Home

Romanticism; Literacy; Poetry; Painting – are all things that are designed to be beautiful.

Romanticism: a movement of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries that marked the reaction in literature, philosophy, art, religion, and politics from the neoclassicism and formal orthodoxy of the preceding period. Romanticism arose so gradually and exhibited so many phases that a satisfactory definition is not possible. The aspect most stressed in France is reflected in Victor Hugo’s phrase “liberalism in literature,” meaning especially the freeing of the artist and writer from restrains and rules and suggesting that phase of individualism marked by the encouragement of revolutionary political ideas. The poet Heine noted the chief aspect of German romanticism in calling it the revival of medievalism in art, letters, and life. Walter Pater thought the addition of strangement to beauty (the neoclassicists having insisted on order in beauty) constituted the romantic temper.

(http://www.vcu.edu/engweb/eng372/intro-h4.htm)

When it comes to painting and linking to my drawings I think of Pablo Picasso; The intricate lines and the tight detail within the piece; the shapes, all remind me of my drawings, also the colours he uses are all dark/deep misty colours, however he sticks to one sort of colour throughout like I do in my drawing. There’s just something about load of shapes and lines that make his work so aesthetically pleasing to look at.

images ma-jolie 

Looking at Picasso’s work also makes me think about Cubism and that whole Era. My work relates loosely to Cubism in the way in which they are drawn, I want to keep the cubism/abstract look to my work when I make them into Collages for the final pieces. I like the shading and the colours in the work of Picasso’s above, not too vivid in the idea of making it look beautiful.

Leave a Reply

