Home

Whilst doing my research I came across Lisa Yuskavage, a painter who’s oil paintings are known for their engagement with the female form. Like Georgia’s work its based around the female body.

I personally love her work. I love the use of the colour in each piece, I also like how the characters in some of the paintings, especially in the ones above almost look quiet cartoon – like. I also like how the bodies in the paintings depict real sized women, with this generation the average size being a size 16 I feel each painting picks up on the curves of a ‘womanly’ figure and not what society believes a woman’s figure should be. The painting above I love the fleshy colour used for the skin, its similar to the sort of colours I’m using for my final collage.

 

Leave a Reply

